Migrating a VM from XenServer to Hyper-V

Awesome

Astral Traveller's Weblog

My last two posts have spoken about my former XenServer and the fact that I replaced XenServer with Hyper-V. What I didn’t explain was how to actually migrate the exiting virtual machines off XenServer and into Hyper-V.

If you are lucky enough to have both XenServer and Hyper-V servers running concurrently, the process goes a lot quicker than the way I had to do the task. In my case I had to migrate VM’s off the server, install and configure Server 2012 R2, install Hyper-V and then set up my VM’s. Not a difficult task, just time consuming. With two servers, you can move the exported VM hard drive directly to Hyper-V and get going a lot quicker. Moving 120+GB VHD files does take some time, even on gigabit Ethernet.

On XenServer, I had 5 VM’s. I determined that I would be migrating 3 of them, while I would rebuild…

View original post 579 more words

Leave a Reply

